Graduate Student Association

Graduate Student Association (GSA)

The University Graduate Student Association, formed on October 6, 1958, is a student-led group that represents and acts on behalf of Graduate Students at North Carolina State University to improve the satisfaction and scholarship of our members during their time here. The UGSA serves Graduate Students by participating in student government, appointing students to university standing committees, and developing internal programs to assist graduate students with research and funding. 

CRDM Student Association (CRDMSA)

The CRDMSA promotes the academic and professional development of graduate students in the CRDM doctoral program and gives graduate students a platform to meet, learn, and share information and knowledge with their peers. The CRDMSA provides opportunities for students to give back to their graduate school community by serving as an officer, representative, or serving on ad hoc committees or workgroups as needed to conduct CRDMSA business or activities. Meetings are held monthly and are open to all students in the CRDM program, whether full- or part-time. Payment of dues is not required for membership, but under some circumstances may be collected as a prerequisite to receiving funding from the CRDMSA. CRDMSA holds social events for CRDM students during the academic year, including an annual kickball game against MA Communication students, and participates in welcoming prospective CRDM students during spring recruitment. CRDMSA facilitates student input into issues regarding the CRDM program and is a primary channel through which faculty and administration recruit student representation on committees and workgroups. The  CRDMSA also maintains a blog site that highlights student work and achievements and a website that archives CRDMSA business activities. In addition, CRDMSA provides some travel funding for students attending professional conferences which is made available through our affiliation with NC State‚Äôs Student Government (see above).

2020 CRDMSA Members

James Harr, President                                       Beth Greene, Vice President

Jeffrey Bruinsma, Treasurer                                Amber Holland, Secretary

Alexandra Cata, Representative to the Program Committee 

Gayas Eapen, Representative to the Program Committee                                 

Alex Sutter, 2nd Year Cohort Reprepresentative

Mai Ibrahim, 3rd Year Cohort Reprepresentative

Tyler DeAtley, 4th Year Cohort Reprepresentative